Home » Projects & Issues » All Projects » Clean Water: Delaware’s Clear Choice

Clean Water: Delaware’s Clear Choice

Project Status: Current

What is the Clean Water Campaign?

 

The Clean Water Campaign is a statewide effort to secure funding to improve Delaware’s water – clean water is critical to our economy, environment, wildlife, food supply and public health.

The Center, along with the Delaware Nature Society and the University of Delaware’s Water Resources Center, is one of three steering committee members of the Alliance, which has launched a campaign to improve the quality of Delaware’s water by educating people about the importance of clean water and advocating for better policies on the local, state, and federal levels.

Dedicated funding for clean water is essential for a cleaner environment, healthier crops and food sources, and a healthy and growing economy. Additional clean water funding will be used for upgrades to wastewater treatment facilities and stormwater systems; environmentally sound solutions to remove contaminants from our water; and protection of wetlands and open space. Increased funding for statewide clean water initiatives ensures a better, stronger Delaware. 

Find out how you can get involved at cleanwaterdelaware.org.

Why is the Clean Water Campaign needed?

 

Polluted waterways, tainted drinking water, and failing infrastructure can be found throughout the state of Delaware. In some cases, former industrial operations led to toxins entering waterways. In other cases, historical and current uses of agricultural fertilizers have impacted the groundwater sources that feed people’s drinking water wells.

In 2015, Delaware’s Clean Water and Flood Abatement Task Force released a report outlining the state’s water quality needs and shortfalls. It found that more than 90% of Delaware’s rivers, streams, bays, and ponds are polluted. This includes the Inland Bays watershed, where excess nutrients have significantly impacted water quality.

That means many waterways are not safe for swimming, drinking, or for eating the fish caught from them. At least 100 miles of waterways in Delaware have fish consumption advisories due to unsafe levels of PCBs, metals, and pesticides.

Currently, nutrient pollution (low oxygen and algal blooms) is the biggest issue threatening Delaware’s Inland Bays. Financial support for clean water projects statewide could provide funding for projects to help mitigate this problem.

As more people move to Delaware, especially Sussex County, more land is being developed, meaning more impervious surfaces like roads and parking lots that can collect oil, grease, and litter than can then be carried to waterways with stormwater runoff. More development and more residents also means more pressure on existing infrastructure like wastewater treatment facilities.

The Task Force found Delaware faces a $100 million annual shortfall to address issues like failing or outdated wastewater and drinking water treatment systems. A proposed bill, called the Clean Water for Delaware Act, would require prioritizing solutions for addressing those problems and would create a Clean Water Trust Fund to financially support them.

As of February 2021, the Clean Water for Delaware Act had been successfully voted out of committee and is expected to be voted on by the General Assembly before the legislative session ends on June 30. Gov. John Carney has voiced his support for providing $50 million in initial funding for the effort, which now must also be approved by state legislators.

Contact Your Legislators Today!

 

An important step in securing funding for clean water is ensuring that Delaware’s lawmakers know how important this issue is to voting residents like you. Call, email, or write to your lawmaker to encourage them to support clean water initiatives and funding.

In 2021, the Clean Water for Delaware Act (House Bill 200) is being considered again by state legislators. Gov. John Carney has publicly voiced support of an initial investment of $50 million to begin implementing the solutions outlined by the bill. We are asking the General Assembly to support and fund that $50 million initial investment.

Below are maps of Delaware’s 151st General Assembly House and Senate districts, followed by a list of the corresponding elected officials and ways to get in touch with them. This information is current as of February 2021.

 

House of Representatives

 

District 1 (Wilmington area)
Rep. Nnamdi O. Chukwuocha
Nnamdi.Chukwuocha@delaware.gov
302-744-4138

 

District 2 (Wilmington)
Rep. Stephanie T. Bolden
StephanieT.Bolden@delaware.gov
302-744-4351

 

District 3 (Wilmington)
Rep. Sherry Dorsey Walker
Sherry.Dorseywalker@delaware.gov
302-744-4351

District 4 (Wilmington area)
Rep. Gerald L. Brady
Gerald.Brady@delaware.gov
302-744-4351

 

District 5 (Christiana, Newark)
Rep. Kendra Johnson
Kendra.Johnson@delaware.gov
302-744-4351

 

District 6 (Brandywine Hundred, Bellafonte, southern Claymont)
Rep. Debra Heffernan
Debra.Heffernan@delaware.gov
302-744-4378

District 7 (Brandywine Hundred, Claymont, Arden)
Rep. Larry Lambert
Larry.Lambert@delaware.gov
302-744-4351

 

District 8 (Middletown)
Rep. Sherae’a Moore
Rae.Moore@delaware.gov
302-744-4171 or 302-256-9313

 

District 9 (Middletown, Odessa, Port Penn, St. George’s, Townsend)
Rep. Kevin S. Hensley
Kevin.Hensley@delaware.gov
302-744-4171

District 10 (Brandywine Valley, Claymont)
Rep. Sean Matthews
Sean.Matthews@delaware.gov
302-744-4351

 

District 11 (Hartly, Kenton)
Rep. Jeffrey N. Spiegelman
Jeff.Spiegelman@delaware.gov
302-744-4171

 

District 12 (Brandywine Valley, Hockessin)
Rep. Krista Griffith
Krista.Griffith@delaware.gov
302-744-4351

District 13 (Elsmere area)
Rep. John L. Mitchell
John.L.Mitchell@delaware.gov
302-744-4351

 

District 14 (Dewey Beach, Henlopen Acres, Lewes, Rehoboth Beach)
Rep. Peter C. Schwarzkopf
Peter.Schwarzkopf@delaware.gov
302-744-4351

 

District 15 (Bear, Delaware City, Red Lion)
Rep. Valerie Longhurst
Valerie.Longhurst@delaware.gov
302-744-4351

District 16 (New Castle, Southbridge, Wilmington)
Rep. Franklin D. Cooke
FranklinD.Cooke@delaware.gov
302-744-4351

 

District 17 (Christiana, New Castle)
Rep. Melissa Minor-Brown
Melissa.Minorbrown@delaware.gov
302-744-4351

 

District 18 (Bear, Christiana, Newark, New Castle)
Rep. David Bentz
David.Bentz@delaware.gov
302-744-4351

District 19 (Christiana, DelCastle, Newport, Stanton)
Rep. Kimberly Williams
Kim.Williams@delaware.gov
302-744-4351

 

District 20 (Lewes, Harbeson, Milton)
Rep. Stephen T. Smyk
Steve.Smyk@delaware.gov
302-744-4171

 

District 21 (Hockessin, Newark, Pike Creek)
Rep. Michael Ramone
Michael.Ramone@delaware.gov
302-744-4171

District 22 (Yorklyn)
Rep. Michael F. Smith
Michael.F.Smith@delaware.gov
302-744-4171

 

District 23 (Newark)
Rep. Paul S. Baumbach
Paul.Baumbach@delaware.gov
302-744-4221

 

District 24 (Newark)
Rep. Edward S. Osienski
Edward.Osienski@delaware.gov
302-744-4351

District 25 (Newark)
Rep. John A. Kowalko
John.Kowalko@delaware.gov
302-744-4351

 

District 26 (Bear, Glasgow, southeast of Newark)
Rep. Madinah Wilson-Anton
Madinah.Wilson-Anton@delaware.gov
302-744-4351

 

District 27 (Glasgow, Newark, Red Lion)
Rep. Eric Morrison
Eric.Morrison@delaware.gov
302-744-4351

District 28 (Little Creek, Smyrna, Woodland Beach)
Rep. William J. Carson
William.Carson@delaware.gov
302-744-4351

 

District 29 (Cheswold, Clayton, Pearsons Corner)
Rep. William Bush
William.Bush@delaware.gov
302-744-4351

 

District 30 (Felton, Harrington)
Rep. W. Shannon Morris
Shannon.Morris@delaware.gov
302-744-4171

District 31 (Dover)
Rep. Sean M. Lynn
Sean.Lynn@delaware.gov
302-744-4351

 

District 32 (Dover, Kitts Hummock, Little Creek, Magnolia)
Rep. Andria L. Bennett
Andria.Bennett@delaware.gov
302-744-4351

 

District 33 (Bowers Beach, Frederica, Little Heaven, Magnolia, Milford)
Rep Charles S. Postles Jr.
Charles.Postles@delaware.gov
302-744-4081

District 34 (Camden, Wyoming, Viola)
Rep. Lyndon D. Yearick
Lyndon.Yearick@delaware.gov
302-744-4171

 

District 35 (Bridgeville, Ellendale, Greenwood)
Rep. Jesse R. Vanderwende
Jesse.Vanderwende@delaware.gov
302-744-4267

 

District 36 (Broadkill Beach, Ellendale, Milford, Primehook, Slaughter Beach)
Rep. Bryan W. Shupe
Bryan.Shupe@delaware.gov
302-744-4171

District 37 (Georgetown, Long Neck)
Rep. Ruth Briggs King
Ruth.BriggsKing@delaware.gov
302-744-4251

 

District 38 (Bethany Beach, Fenwick Island, Ocean View, Selbyville, South Bethany)
Rep. Ronald E. Gray
Ronald.Gray@delaware.gov
302-744-4171

 

District 39 (Blades, Seaford)
Rep. Daniel B. Short
Daniel.Short@delaware.gov
302-744-4172

District 40 (Delmar, Laurel)
Rep. Timothy D. Dukes
Timothy.Dukes@delaware.gov
302-744-4171

 

District 41 (Dagsboro, Frankford, Millsboro, Selbyville)
Rep. Richard G. Collins
Richard.G.Collins@delaware.gov
302-744-4082

   

 

 

Senate

 

District 1 (Claymont, northern Wilmington)
Sen. Sarah McBride
Sarah.McBride@delaware.gov
302-744-4147

 

District 2 (Edgemoor, South Wilmington, Collins Park)
Sen. Darius J. Brown
Darius.Brown@delaware.gov
302-744-4286

 

District 3 (Wilmington)
Sen. S. Elizabeth Lockman
Elizabeth.Lockman@delaware.gov
302-744-4168

District 4 (Alapocas, Hockessin, Montchanin, Talleyville)
Sen. Laura V. Sturgeon
Laura.Sturgeon@delaware.gov
302-744-4135

 

District 5 (Talleyville, Talleys Corner)
Sen. Kyle Evans Gay
Kyle.Gay@delaware.gov
302-744-4137

 

District 6 (Dewey Beach, Henlopen Acres, Lewes, Milton, Rehoboth Beach)
Sen. Ernesto “Ernie” B. Lopez
Ernesto.Lopez@delaware.gov
302-744-4136

District 7 (Elsmere, Newport)
Sen. Spiros Mantzavinos
Spiros.Mantzavinos@delaware.gov
302-744-4133

 

District 8 (Newark, North Star)
Sen. David P. Sokola
David.Sokola@delaware.gov
302-744-4139

 

District 9 (Christiana)
Sen. John “Jack” Walsh
John.Walsh@delaware.gov
302-744-4163

District 10 (Glasgow, Middletown, Mt. Pleasant)
Sen. Stephanie L. Hansen
Stephanie.Hansen@delaware.gov
302-744-4138

 

District 11 (Newark, Ogletown)
Sen. Bryan Townsend
Bryan.Townsend@delaware.gov
302-744-4165

 

District 12 (Delaware City, New Castle, St. George’s)
Sen. Nicole Poore
Nicole.Poore@delaware.gov
302-744-4164

District 13 (Bear, Wilmington Manor)
Sen. Marie Pinkney
Marie.Pinkney@delaware.gov
302-744-4167

 

District 14 (Leipsic, Smyrna, Woodland Beach)
Sen. Bruce C. Ennis
Bruce.Ennis@delaware.gov
302-744-4310

 

District 15 (Felton, Hartly)
Sen. David G. Lawson
Dave.Lawson@delaware.gov
302-744-4237

District 16 (Bowers Beach, Camden-Wyoming, Frederica, Kitts Hummock)
Sen. Colin R. J. Bonini
Colin.Bonini@delaware.gov
302-744-4169
 

District 17 (Dover)
Sen. Trey Charles Paradee
Trey.Paradee@delaware.gov
302-744-4162

 

District 18 (Ellendale, Greenwood, Harrington, Milford, Slaughter Beach)
Sen. David L. Wilson
David.L.Wilson@delaware.gov
302-744-4048

District 19 (Bridgeville, Georgetown, Long Neck)
Sen. Brian Pettyjohn
Brian.Pettyjohn@delaware.gov
302-744-4117 or
302-858-0694

 

District 20 (Bethany Beach, Dagsboro, Fenwick Island, Frankford, Millville, South Bethany)
Sen. Gerald Hocker
Gerald.Hocker@delaware.gov
302-744-4144
302-537-6016
302-539-4140

 

District 21 (Bethel, Blades, Delmar, Laurel, Seaford)
Sen. Bryant L. Richardson
Bryant.Richardson@delaware.gov
302-744-4298

 

Fact Sheets and Resources